Why bother with Crimea ?

VR designs has been reinforced with designer Cameron Harris and the result is a revolutionary new operational war game 'Barbarossa' that plays like none other. It blends an advanced counter pushing engine with deep narrative, people management and in-depth semi-randomized decision systems.

Moderators: Vic, lancer

Franciscus

Why bother with Crimea ?

Post by Franciscus »

Hi

A discussion about Crimea started in the beta patch thread, but IMHO it deserves it's own space.

Currently I think there is no incentive to either invade or defend Crimea in DC:B. But in the real war we all know what happened.

First I think perhaps we should debate the main reasons why the germans invaded Crimea, and then try to see if, or how, this is or can be replicated in the game.

I am no expert, but I think historically the main reasons were:
- to eliminate a potential threat to the flank of the main thrust to Rostov and beyond. This can be more or less replicated in game, but by just blocking the isthmus with one of the Romanian armies this can probably be achieved, at least until the game "ends"
- to capture Sevastopol, in order to negate the threat of the Russian fleet, AND to gain a strong naval and air base for further operations. This IMHO, due to the abstractions of the game is not replicated. The only value of Sevastopol is being an alternative to Kharkov as the second objective to win in the south. But it is much more easy to go for Kharkov.

Possible solutions:

- easier but maybe too radical: make "winning" in the south dependent on conquering Rostov AND Kharkov AND Sevastopol. It would force a fight for Crimea but could make Germany victory almost impossible (as it was :)) But maybe a "key" to solve the apparent exagerated "easiness" of germany in the south.