New to game, Operation Husky tactics/strategies

Gary Grigsby’s War in the West 1943-45 is the most ambitious and detailed computer wargame on the Western Front of World War II ever made. Starting with the Summer 1943 invasions of Sicily and Italy and proceeding through the invasions of France and the drive into Germany, War in the West brings you all the Allied campaigns in Western Europe and the capability to re-fight the Western Front according to your plan.

Moderators: Joel Billings, RedLancer

lesharris

New to game, Operation Husky tactics/strategies

Post by lesharris »

I am new to the game and would say I have only a rudimentary understanding of game systems as a whole. That said, I've been playing through the Operation Husky intro scenario and having a good time with it. I can pretty much always easily get a minor Allied victory at this point. I can't seem to close the deal and capture Messina before the end of turn 7. I can get it to the point where if there was a turn 8 I would easily capture it. Always close but no cigar.

I have been sending a fairly minimal detachment to the west and northwest consisting of two infantry and one armor divisions which handily take those two VP cities and the rest of the US forces I throw in with the British to give more 'oompf' for the Messina push. I am finding difficulties with the terrain, having enough points to maneuver, come head to head with the 3 unit stacking limit, etc. Since I am getting so close I feel like it must be possible and the failure lies entirely with my play.

I thought I would reach out on here and see if any old hands have any advice or strategies for taking Messina in the intro scenario. I am certain I am missing something.
KWG

RE: New to game, Operation Husky tactics/strategies

Post by KWG »

Could be many things;

If this applies