Napoleonic book suggstions

AGEod goes back to the Napoleonic era and delivers the most detailed and comprehensive strategy game ever created about a time of struggle and conquest that forged modern Europe.
Delaware

Napoleonic book suggstions

Post by Delaware »

I am much more familiar with the American Civil War than I am with Napoleonic stuff. What books would you recommend for general reading for context of the time? I see Andrew Roberts "Napoleon: A Life" gets great reviews. I also have Zamoyski's books on 1812 invasion of Russia and the Congress of Vienna. Any other suggestions?
76mm

RE: Napoleonic book suggstions

Post by 76mm »

I'm no Napoleonic expert, but I thought that The Campaigns of Napoleon by Chandler was very good, and is considered a classic.
typhoon

Post by typhoon »

The War of wars by Robert Harvey is one of my favs and of course there is always War and Peace to get you into the right frame of mind to begin a campaign as Russian.
kosmoface

Post by kosmoface »

1812: Napoleon's Fatal March on Moscow - Adam Zamoyski

Absolute page turner.
Ironclad

Post by Ironclad »

delete
Ironclad

Post by Ironclad »

ORIGINAL: 76mm

I'm no Napoleonic expert, but I thought that The Campaigns of Napoleon by Chandler was very good, and is considered a classic.

True. Nearly 50 years old but still the best book on Napoleon I have ever read and reread regularly. An outstanding account of Napoleon's practice, military genius and campaigns with superb battle maps.
Arsan

Post by Arsan »

+1 for Chandler's The Campaigns of Napoleon. Awesome [&o]
Steelers708

Post by Steelers708 »

Swords Around a Throne by John R. Elting is an excellent book on Napoleons Grande Armee.
Kai

Post by Kai »

Chandler's book is the best overall history.

For a really fun read, I can recommend Seven Men of Gascony, by Delderfield. It's historical fiction, and gives a good flavor of what it was like to be a soldier in Napoleon's army.
Arsan

Post by Arsan »

ORIGINAL: Steelers708