Custom Overlays are FANTASTIC and easy to use - thanks, devs!

Take command of air and naval assets from post-WW2 to the near future in tactical and operational scale, complete with historical and hypothetical scenarios and an integrated scenario editor.

Moderator: MOD_Command

ColonelMolerat

Custom Overlays are FANTASTIC and easy to use - thanks, devs!

Post by ColonelMolerat »

One of my concerns before getting CMANO was that I'm relatively new to such hard simulation - I like to be able to zoom right into maps and get a sense of place. Basically, I was worried that the zoom level might not be detailed enough to make me feel comfortable.

Anyway, I was looking at custom overlays. It took me about 10 minutes to learn the basics, and about 20 to start feeling really comfortable with them.

I went back to playing the game, when I realised what I'd thought was a valley was actually a lake... So I thought back to custom overlays.

Within less than ten minutes, I had a map of the area, from a zoomed-out view of the whole AO, to individual streets of the city I was fighting over.

I wanted to make this post to say, if you've not looked at custom overlays, do so - they are INCREDIBLY easy to make, and to say to the devs - thanks! This is a BRILLIANT feature!!

To those looking to make these overlays, instructions are in the CMANO manual - here are three quick tips it doesn't mention:

1. The output image files are saved to the desktop... It took me too long to realise this!