Will someone share order research please?

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

AndysonofBob

Will someone share order research please?

Post by AndysonofBob »

Hi

I think I am just beginning to get the game but I never feel confident that I am doing things efficiently.

Although I am a min-maxer, I am fully aware I am failing badly so would be grateful if someone could offer a research map.

I would be interested in a couple of ideas e.g.

A general style
Tourist (though these should still be able to look after themselves)
Combat

I take it you don't need to focus on each weapon techs right?

Thanks!
Aeson

RE: Will someone share order research please?

Post by Aeson »

A thread which might interest you:
tm.asp?m=3868291
I take it you don't need to focus on each weapon techs right?
Not at all. Focusing on one or two weapons is much better than spreading research between all weapons; I'd much rather have, say, Titan Beams alone than Velocity Torpedoes + Shatterforce Lasers + Concussion Missiles + Derasian Shockwaves.

To my mind there are three major 'primary' weapon types (weapons that you'll use as the primary armament on a design) - missiles, torpedoes, and blasters. There are two more weapon types that can serve as 'primary' weapons (phasers and railguns), though in my opinion phasers work better as secondary weapons and railguns are just awkward.