[REQ]Stars in Shadow - Shipset

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario, art and sound modding and the game editor for Distant Worlds.

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

Seraph86

[REQ]Stars in Shadow - Shipset

Post by Seraph86 »

there seems to be a new MoO2 indie-clone in developement which looks kinda nice and all but i am more interested in the ship graphics which look REALLY good. sadly i have no experience in modding whatsoever. is anybody able to make a shipset out of the ship graphics? they are all 2D and on the bottom of the following page under "finished artwork" are the ship arts already nicely sorted out and all:

http://stars-in-shadow.com/media_gallery.html#screenshots

...if nobody is able / willing to help a fellow DW:U-gamer then can i have some recommendations to how to do it myself?

thx in advance!

[&o][&o][&o][&o][&o][&o][&o][&o][&o]

Edit: my main intention is to get the human shipset (see attachment).
Attachments
human_collage3.jpg
human_collage3.jpg (852.51 KiB) Viewed 361 times
ardonquen

RE: [REQ]Stars in Shadow - Shipset

Post by ardonquen »

Oh wow, those are pretty neat.

It should actually be quite easy to do. You'd just need to carefully cut them out in an image manipulator (GIMP is free, but Photoshop is better) and then make a few minor changes to make them suitable for Distant Worlds.
All of Distant Worlds' assets are PNG files, so it would be easy to get them working with the game. I mean, in theory.

The only problem I see is that there's some jpeg compression fuzziness around their outlines, but that shouldn't be too difficult to deal with.

You'd prolly end up with something like this:
http://i.imgur.com/GdeggY9.png