Help a naive player understand air upgrades

This new stand alone release based on the legendary War in the Pacific from 2 by 3 Games adds significant improvements and changes to enhance game play, improve realism, and increase historical accuracy. With dozens of new features, new art, and engine improvements, War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition brings you the most realistic and immersive WWII Pacific Theater wargame ever!

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

jwolf

Help a naive player understand air upgrades

Post by jwolf »

Greetings. New player with my latest frustration, trying to upgrade an AVG squadron in India to Warhawks. Nothing happened for a few days, and finally I noticed a mouseover in the box for this squadron which explained that I need a level 7 airfield. And of course, India has no level 7 airfields (game is currently in late February 42). I've been working on Delhi for about two months and at the current rate it will take roughly another two months to go up from 6 to 7, which means I am stuck until about the end of April.

OK here is my question. I've never been in the military and I don't know how these things are actually done. From a very naive viewpoint, I would suppose you get an airfield, fly the old and the new planes there, sign a few forms, maybe a celebratory toast, and that is that. What is so complex about this process that you need such a high level airfield? [&:]
HansBolter

RE: Help a naive player understand air upgrades

Post by HansBolter »

I can't say for certain what level airfield you need but I do know an upgrade WILL occur at smaller airfields.

I have upgraded the AVG in either Chitagong or Calcutta many times.

The real key is the minimum 20k supply at the base.
Hans

bartrat

Post by bartrat »