Modding Resources

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario, art and sound modding and the game editor for Distant Worlds.

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

Overlord015

Modding Resources

Post by Overlord015 »

Hello everyone, though this is my first time posting I've been stalking this forum for ages,watching from the shadows while stroking a picture of a physical copy of DW:U and all that. . . I've recently just gone and lost what hopes I had for a realism themed overhaul of the resource system to come out, so I went ahead and tried my hand at it. Not as soul crushing as an overhaul of the tech-tree, but well, I can't even get the game to start. I know this is often related to something being written incorrectly or a comma missing somewhere (been tweaking stuff for DW:U ever since I got my hands on it). In all honesty I'm at my wit's end here, can't for the life of me find what may be wrong, tried just about anything and everything, gone over it hundreds of times, still can't get the darn thing to work. Maybe someone willing to look it over may find just what's wrong with it, always good to have another pair of fresh eyes look over it and all that. . . Anyone willing to lend some assistance? Attached is like my 100th revision of this darn thing. [:(]

[And yes, if I manage to get it working I plan on releasing it in here of course. Going to need victims *cough* testers, to get this monster balanced anyways. . .]
Attachments
resources.txt
(18.85 KiB) Downloaded 34 times
mensrea

RE: Modding Resources

Post by mensrea »

I didn't look at the file but I'm guessing you tried to remove gold as a resource, or maybe even changed its number or something. It likely crashes the game because of its connection with those solid gold asteroids. If this isn't the case then I'm not sure what it is.
ehsumrell1

Post by ehsumrell1 »

Hello Overload015, and welcome to the forums (officially)!