German Combat Engineers in Panzer Divs/Corps?

Gary Grigsby’s War in the East: The German-Soviet War 1941-1945 is a turn-based World War II strategy game stretching across the entire Eastern Front. Gamers can engage in an epic campaign, including division-sized battles with realistic and historical terrain, weather, orders of battle, logistics and combat results.

The critically and fan-acclaimed Eastern Front mega-game Gary Grigsby’s War in the East just got bigger and better with Gary Grigsby’s War in the East: Don to the Danube! This expansion to the award-winning War in the East comes with a wide array of later war scenarios ranging from short but intense 6 turn bouts like the Battle for Kharkov (1942) to immense 37-turn engagements taking place across multiple nations like Drama on the Danube (Summer 1944 – Spring 1945).

Moderators: Joel Billings, elmo3, Sabre21

rainman2015

German Combat Engineers in Panzer Divs/Corps?

Post by rainman2015 »

I am a newbie, and am playing my first campaign game as the Axis.

Was reading this old thread (great thread) on how to best distribute support units as the Axis, and have a question about combat engineers.

tm.asp?m=2925986&mpage=1&key=support%2Cunits&#2927042

Why is everyone recommending putting precious combat engineer support units into their panzer divisions directly or into the Panzer Corps? Don't you want to use kind of 'shock infantry corps' to take out the forts and urban defended areas so that you keep the panzers from being halved and ground up in the forts/urban areas?

Why put combat engineers into your panzer corps/divisions?

Thanks
Randy
:)
swkuh

RE: German Combat Engineers in Panzer Divs/Corps?

Post by swkuh »