Reconnaissance

The development team behind the award-winning games Decisive Campaigns: From Warsaw To Paris and Advanced Tactics is back with a new and improved game engine that focuses on the decisive year and theater of World War II! Decisive Campaigns: Case Blue simulates the German drive to Stalingrad and into the Caucasus of the summer of 1942, as well as its May preludes (2nd Kharkov offensive, Operation Trappenjagd) and also the Soviet winter counter-offensive (Operation Uranus) that ended with the encirclement of 6th Army in Stalingrad and the destruction of the axis minor armies. With many improvements including the PBEM++ system, this is a release to watch for wargamers!

Moderator: Vic

Schweinewitz

Reconnaissance

Post by Schweinewitz »

Hello folks, I'm new to this fine game and still exploring the Eastern Front (spending more time studying the OOBs, HQ files, descriptions etc. than actually playing the game). Played the brilliant Unity of Command before and was looking for something more complex; seems like I've found the right thing. [;)]

I've got one or two questions regarding recon units in the game: I recently saw screenshots of DC Blitz with SdKfz 222 and 232, also recon planes. I'm surprised that in CB they're missing.
I also saw screens from Blitz with support units (MGs, mortars etc.), they're gone too. Is the reason the attempt to lower the total number of units in the large CB scenarios? And if so, how is reconnaissance incorporated (except for the HQ Recon Card and the recon flight feature)?
Schweinewitz

RE: Reconnaissance

Post by Schweinewitz »

(double post [:(])
gwgardner

Post by gwgardner »

Not sure if I'm providing the full answer, but part of recon is incorporated into the 'stack' feature in the game, ie how many units one has adjacent to an enemy hex.