What should a begginer choose?

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

RakuPL

Post by RakuPL »

First of all I wanted to say hello to all members and staff here at the Matrix forums! [:)]

As you can see this is my first post here as I'm a beginner at Matrix/Slitherine games (played Panzer Corps and W40K: Armageddon only [;)] ).

I've decided to take next step in my video games hobby with some more serious challenge, so I wanted to ask more experienced players here (in terms of hex-based wargames) to advise what game should I choose to start with:

Commander Europe at War
The Operational Art of War III
Gary Grigsby's War in the East
Gary Grigsby's War in the West
or else?

Thank you very much for patience for a new member :)
Ranger33

RE: What should a begginer choose?

Post by Ranger33 »

Welcome! I've been playing wargames for quite awhile but would still consider myself a beginner compared to other guys here. I have a ton of games from Matrix but have a hard time focusing on just one for a long time so I kind of suck at most of them.

If you are interested in a variety of theaters at different scales, Operational Art of War is a great bang for your buck. It's fairly complicated to play though, so pencil in a few afternoons to get a handle on it.

If you want the new hotness, Flashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm is awesome. More intuitive to learn and better looking. However, it is specific to Cold War gone hot at a sort of grand tactical scale.

The Commander series is solid, a nice gradual step up from Panzer Corps and Warhammer. WWI is newest in this series and a good game. I would also recommend taking a look at the AGEOD games. They play differently from anything else out there, so it's a love it or hate it series for most.

I would hold off on the "monster" games for awhile. They are awesome in theory, but take real dedication to get the most out of them. I know from experience!
Rodwonder