Spaceports and Trade

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies and ship designs with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

DarthFreddy

Spaceports and Trade

Post by DarthFreddy »

Hi, I'm new to the game and I've been busy reading up on the many mechanics, but I'm still confused about one thing:

How do spaceports affect trade?

From what I can tell, transports will ship resources to and from a colony without it having a spaceport. I assume this includes resources brought on mining ships, or shipped directly from mines, please correct me if I'm wrong. So then the only reason, in terms of trade, to build a port over a colony is if the colony's own port facilities can't handle the shipping volume anymore, right?

I also read several times that having too many ports will confuse the freighter AI. However as the colony developes I'll eventually want to build a spaceport on it for the station benefits to happiness, isn't this a catch 22?

Thx for helping a newbie out [:)]
NephilimNexus

RE: Spaceports and Trade

Post by NephilimNexus »

Well yes, a spaceport with Medical & Recreation gives a happiness bonus, and a happiness bonus gives more compliance with taxes, so that's an income boost. Meanwhile, spaceports & planets freely transfer supplies between each other, this is true. Spaceports have limited capacity, after all, while planets can hold millions of resources.

However, in addition to ship building, repairs, and defense, spaceports also have Commercial Centers, which also give you a tax bonus. Planets do not. So given a choice, you'll want your freighters docking at spaceports for the bonus income. Also construction ships cannot take supplies from planets, so you won't be able to build any mines without a spaceport to pick up from.