Arcs random vs setting a start and end arc

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

sufa101loofa

Arcs random vs setting a start and end arc

Post by sufa101loofa »

I am relatively new to the game and I was wondering what are the pros and cons of using arcs random for your Air Searches?
We shall defend our island, whatever the cost may be, we shall fight on the beaches, we shall fight on the landing grounds, we shall fight in the fields and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills; we shall never surrender...Winston Churchill
Alfred

RE: Arcs random vs setting a start and end arc

Post by Alfred »

Although often asked, there is no particularly good consolidated thread which thoroughly deals with naval search/ASW arcs.  This thread is probably the best single thread.

http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=3299579&mpage=1&key=search%2Carc&#3299641

One of the problems you will encounter is that there are some very strong advocates for not setting search arcs but they tend to hide the details as to why they can get away with it.  Newbies read these no set arcs assertions and just adopt the principle that it works perfectly and obviates the case for setting arcs.  From that urban myths are created.  As always the devil is in the detail.  Particularly when reading my posts, one has to be alert to exactly what I say and the nuances I point out.

1.  Setting search arcs does increase micromanagement.  Players who are averse to micromanagement or at least want to minimise, tend to be very enthusiastic at the prospect of avoiding this additional work load.