Pirates - Not gaining influence?

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

MatBailie

Pirates - Not gaining influence?

Post by MatBailie »

Last night I started playing as a Pirate :)

At the start of the game, my Explorer hanging around an Empire planet slowly gained me influence.

Then they cancelled the protection agreement and blew my explorer up. Soon I had built up a fleet and sent it over to remove that empire's space stations, etc. But even with a fleet hanging around the planet, I didn't gain any influence.

So I build a couple of ships with 17 assault pods each, and raided the planet. To my surprise a second wave of my assault pods landed (I guess the fight went on so long that they "recharged") and totally over-ran the planet. I still was not, however, gaining any influence, and all of the planets troops remained in place.

Bug? Something I don't understand? Or are the Naxxilian just really tough? ;)

Cheers,
Mat.

Update : It appears that I can no longer gain influence over the capital planet of any empire, though I could at the start of the game. I can only gain influence over their subsequent colonies. Is that correct, or is something awry?
Desktop: Intel i5 12400F 4.0GHz, 32GB RAM, AMD RX 6700 XT 12GB
Laptop: Intel i7 10750H 4.2GHz, 16GB RAM, nVidia GTX 1660 Ti MaxQ 6GB

"War does not determine who is right - only who is left." Bertrand Russell
Aeson

RE: Pirates - Not gaining influence?

Post by Aeson »