Divisions in the Pacific?

World in Flames is the computer version of Australian Design Group classic board game. World In Flames is a highly detailed game covering the both Europe and Pacific Theaters of Operations during World War II. If you want grand strategy this game is for you.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

blackcloud6

Divisions in the Pacific?

Post by blackcloud6 »

I'm still learning this game and I started the Guadalcanal scenario this week. One thing jumped out at me was that the Japanese do not have nearly enough infantry units to cover their newly won empire in the Pacific. Does adding the Divisions optional make the Pacific war more realistic by have more troops to spread out? Doe adding the Division optional rule made the game more difficult or take much more time? How would it then affect fighting in the ETO once moving to a global scenario?
bo

RE: Divisions in the Pacific?

Post by bo »

ORIGINAL: blackcloud6

I'm still learning this game and I started the Guadalcanal scenario this week. One thing jumped out at me was that the Japanese do not have nearly enough infantry units to cover their newly won empire in the Pacific. Does adding the Divisions optional make the Pacific war more realistic by have more troops to spread out? Doe adding the Division optional rule made the game more difficult or take much more time? How would it then affect fighting in the ETO once moving to a global scenario?

Hi blackcloud I am the Guadalcanal expert or so I think I am, others might disagree with that[:(]

I have beta tested Guadalcanal for about 2 years, it is a wonderful scenario for learning invasions, naval carrier battles etc. IMO I would not use fast start, only because you need a few optional rules to play Japan in all the scenarios not just Guadalcanal.