64 bit DW II for Extra large maps?

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

Larsenex

64 bit DW II for Extra large maps?

Post by Larsenex »

One can dream. I enjoy the maps right now. Am I correct that if the game was compiled in 64bit we could mod REALLY HUMONGOUS maps that would take HOURS to traverse with Torrent Drive III?

Now that would be cool!

I am NO coder, how hard would it to rebuild the entire game from the ground up in 64 bit?
Go for the Eyes Boo!

Intel 8700K Oc'd to 4.8ghz
32 gigs ram
GTX 1070 w/ 6gigs ram.
Using a cache drive from intel with a 60gig flash & 1 terrabyt hd accelerated.
2guncohen

RE: 64 bit DW II for Extra large maps?

Post by 2guncohen »

[:D] and multiplayer !!!!
Larsenex

Post by Larsenex »

Secretly Icemania is over on the steam forums formulating a plan to mod DW into a 64bit DX 11 multiplayer platform......

I have uncovered his plot.
Go for the Eyes Boo!

32 gigs ram
GTX 1070 w/ 6gigs ram.
WiZz

Post by WiZz »

MP is nearly impossible, if DW doesn't change realtime mode (which unacceptable for me).
johanwanderer

Post by johanwanderer »

Play by mail?
Nanaki

Post by Nanaki »

ORIGINAL: 2guncohen

Hate to say it, but multiplayer in a 4X terrifies me. It usually results in gameplay and core mechanics changes that end up worsening the game, and multiplayer never meshed well with 4X to begin with.

I would rather Distant Worlds II remain singleplayer, and the resources be put towards improving the core gameplay.
I ate the batter of the bulge at Hans' Haus of Luftwaffles