Is it possible to destroy my CSG?

Share your best strategies and tactics with other players by posting them here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

alexmeijer

Is it possible to destroy my CSG?

Post by alexmeijer »

I'll probably sound like a noob (I actually am a noob in this game and warfare...) but is it Possible to destroy my Gerald R. Ford Carrier Strike Group?

I have tried it myself but failed everytime:
Submarine: Got shot before it could fire... OR the torpedo/missile got intercepted.
Ships: All of them were destroyed of the map before they could fire...
Aircraft: Tried to fly a 14 F-35s + 5 Growlers with jammers but they where destroyed of the map. Only 2 missiles got thru...

Since I'm a noob and can't handle it myself, can some of you guys do it?[&o]
I added the scenario to this post. I don't know if the formation of the strike group is realistic, but at least it does it's job right? haha.
Attachments
Carrier strike group.zip
(101.46 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
Gunner98

RE: Is it possible to destroy my CSG?

Post by Gunner98 »

Alex

I once read an article (a long time ago) that was titled something like - The hardest thing in the World to get into - a US CVBG! That was in the cold war days but I think it still applies to a modern CSG.

Looking at your scenario and you are quite heavy. You have the CV, 2x Tyco's, 4x Burks, 2x OHPs, 3 SSNs, 2 AOEs and about 183 AC

This is a Wiki link but worth a look. The typical CSG is the CV, 1-2 Tyco's, 2-3 Burks, 0-2 SSNs, 1 AOE(R) and the CVW which I'll talk about in the next post.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carrier_strike_group (6-7 ships optimum) + SSN(s)

It is not uncommon to have a CSG with only 4 ships - CV, 1 Tyco, 2 Burks

Cold War CVBGs were larger - CV, 2-3x CG/CGN, 3-4x DDG/DD/FFG, 1x AOR (9 ships optimum) + 2-3 SSN