Research Project Descriptions?

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

TwistedTrip

Research Project Descriptions?

Post by TwistedTrip »

Hey there everyone,

I'm new to the series, so excuse me if I don't understand all the concepts and key words right away.

Anyway, to the point of the thread creation. The Research Tree, while starting a new game I wanted to understand why the ai had decided on those specific research choices instead of others. The more I looked at what was being decided upon, the less I truly understood about what each technology did specifically and how that affected the empire I wanted to create from the start.

For example.. The technology Energy Collection under the Energy & Construction tab was first selected for me when I began the game. Now curious, I wanted to know specifically how that would affect my empire and if it was the wisest choice for the game start I wanted to create.

So I hoved over the selected tech icon and was present with this information..

Energy Collection

Project Size 120k (3% complete)
Energy Collector

Size 8, Static Energy Used: 0
Potential Energy 24

I mean, I could take an educated guess. But wouldn't it not be more helpful, if every technology specifically outlined exactly what it affected. Instead of having to remember what each and every technology did from trial and error?