Warning! SEAD in tutorial 1.

Share your best strategies and tactics with other players by posting them here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

henri51

Warning! SEAD in tutorial 1.

Post by henri51 »

I am no expert at this game and not a former Naval officer like (apparently) most participants on these forums. But I learned something from playing the 1st air war tutorial and watching Baloogan's video of it.

The text in the tutorial implies that the way to get rid of the enemy Sam radars is to use shrike ARMs, which are radar-homing missiles. Well a search on Google showed what I suspected: the Vietnam-era Shrike missiles were easily avoided by the target simply shutting off the radars for a while when the Shrikes are seen incoming (this changed with the later HARM homing missiles which homed in on the radar even if it shut down).

So what is the best way to get rid of the SAM radars? The solution is to bomb them (for example with laser-guided heavy bombs -SAM sites are spread out), which is what Baloogan did when like me, he somehow lost track of the Corsairs holding the Shrikes (bug?). I did somewhat the same, except that I put all the strike aircraft on automatic, and none of them hit the radars, but I lost only 3 planes. You can reduce the chance of getting shot down by jamming enemy radar or having the shrikes along with your bombers forcing the radars to shut down.

Note that this scenario is not very difficult; for example although you have many more, sending up 4 F14s can easily destroy all the enemy air at the start, but it is a learning fun scenario. I would guess that most of the old Harpoon enthusiasts on this forum can win this scenario without losing a single plane.