Help requested to increase AMRAAM efficiency

Share your best strategies and tactics with other players by posting them here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Helderik

Help requested to increase AMRAAM efficiency

Post by Helderik »

Hi all,

I am new to this game and have enjoyed every hour spend so far. I have been playing the community scenario Carribean Crisis: the showdown 2012 to learn and enjoy the game.

In this scenario, I try to save SA missiles on my frigates by engaging the SU30 Flanker Gs with my Netherlands F-16 MLU aircraft, armed with AIM-120B AMRAAM missiles. However, I have trouble to shoot down the Flankers with my F-16s. I am looking for ideas and tips to increase my efficiency in shooting them down.

So far, I have tried the following...

- outnumbering the enemy: I use groups of 4x F-16 to engage a single SU30 when possible
- shooting many missiles: I use shift-F1 to engage each target with 6 (!!!) missiles
- I have all frigates behind the F-16s with OECM turned on to jam the Flankers
- F-16s have radars turned on

However, even when shooting 6 missiles at each flanker, often I miss the flankers and they turn around and disappear. When the Flankers return fire, they typically hit me at least as often. What is the problem here? Are the F-16s and AIM-120B missiles just crappy or am I missing other ways to increase my success rate?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Erik
Sardaukar

RE: Help requested to increase AMRAAM efficiency

Post by Sardaukar »

Problem is that SU-30 Flanker is quite advanced plane with good defensive properties (ECM & agility). It's more than match for F-16 and almost equal to last versions of F-16. Another problem is that AIM-120B is not that good compared to later C and especially D-models.