Road to Moscow -- basic questions

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

jallison86

Road to Moscow -- basic questions

Post by jallison86 »

I'm a newbie trying to get a handle on this monster. I've been trying Road to Moscow as the Germans and am getting pretty severely bogged down. I've been pushing my motorized units out pretty aggressively (I think) but still find that by the time I get to the Dnieper the Sovs have formed a line that stops me. It seems like attacking across the river with mechanized troops is a non-starter. For example, in the Mogilev hex I've got the 17th Panzer and 29th Motorized divisions. Both are a bit low on supply, but I'm not sure how to fix that. Across the river is a single Soviet rifle division. I can't do any sort of attack with these two divisions...presumably because they're too low on fuel/supplies.

Without a German bridgehead the Soviets quickly build up a mass of units that's impossible to break through. Easy to defeat individual units but impossible to advance much.

I feel like I'm missing some very basic piece of strategy here. Should motorized units ignore the Soviets and just haul ass for the river in order to form a bridgehead? Can they get there and still be in supply? I've restarted the scenario a few times trying different things but given all there is to do even in a "small" scenario like this it takes a while. Any super-basic tips?

Thanks.

- Jeff
loki100

RE: Road to Moscow -- basic questions

Post by loki100 »

Its a hard problem, but key is that you can't clear the Dniepr with armour/motorised but once your infantry arrive you'll get across easily.

Best is not to push too far in turns 3-4, let the infantry catch up and your mobile units rest a little. I know (because I have the same temptation) that its hard not to think that you have to use every mobile MP every turn.