Ask ally for war-message and reply

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario, art and sound modding and the game editor for Distant Worlds.

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

dvr

Ask ally for war-message and reply

Post by dvr »

Hello fellow Distant World fans,

I was experiencing with a little bit of modding, a race in this case. And although I have no experience in modding whatsoever, it was not that difficult if you stick to the basics and keep the moddingguide close;-).
However, I was changing the dialog file to fit my race, but I know there is a message in game where an allied race asks you to assist them in their war. Is that message not changeable? It doesn't show up in dialog file as far as I can tell.

Thanks to anyone who took the time to read this.

~GrumpyLion89
tjhkkr

RE: Ask ally for war-message and reply

Post by tjhkkr »

There are some generic messages in the GameText.txt file.
You might want to look for it there; as always, make a backup of this file if you start tinkering with it...
Or better yet, put it into your mod directory...

One brief warning: in shadows, you had to replace it in the main game directory for it to pick up the file. I do not know if this got fixed in universe or not. If you tinker with that file, MAKE A BACKUP.
Remember that the evil which is now in the world will become yet more powerful, and that it is not evil which conquers evil, but only love -- Olga Romanov.
ehsumrell1

Post by ehsumrell1 »

ORIGINAL: dvr

Hello fellow Distant World fans,

I was experiencing with a little bit of modding, a race in this case. And although I have no experience in modding whatsoever, it was not that difficult if you stick to the basics and keep the moddingguide close;-).
However, I was changing the dialog file to fit my race, but I know there is a message in game where an allied race asks you to assist them in their war. Is that message not changeable? It doesn't show up in dialog file as far as I can tell.