Noob here. Just a couple questions!

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

Caovi

Noob here. Just a couple questions!

Post by Caovi »

Hello all,

First off, I bought the game off steam a couple days ago, and I absolutely love it! I've never really been into the whole 4x space strategy game, but I'm definitely hooked now! The learning curve is a pretty high, but the more I learn, the more worthwhile and fun the game gets!

1.) What are some ideal settings for a very long marathon type game? I have research set to very expensive in my current play through. It definitely seems to be helping. I understand that you can turn off victory conditions (which I did), but I also want really slow progression.

2.) I think the AI in this game is pretty brilliant and spot on! But I am having an issue in the early stages of the game where I notice several ships flying one by one into an area with Giant Kaltors and dying off. I lost 5 or 6 ships and 3 admirals within a mere 15 seconds. Is there anything that can be done for this? It seems to me if a couple ships perished, the others would be alerted an rerouted automatically. I am using automation a good bit since I am a noob and all. Hopefully I can tweak something somewhere to help with this.

I love this game guys! You've gained a fan for life!
FingNewGuy

RE: Noob here. Just a couple questions!

Post by FingNewGuy »