Planetary bombardment, railguns and shields

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

Raap

Planetary bombardment, railguns and shields

Post by Raap »

This new AI has actually made me desperate and forced me to turn towards planetary bombardment. Which is a testament to its effectiveness I guess, since I've never used it before. At any rate, I noticed my bombardment was having no effect, which is when I discovered this sly bastard had planetary shields at all his colonies.

Figuring I was being clever, I researched and equipped railguns for bombardment instead, since they supposedly penetrate shields. However, I'm still not doing any bombardment damage.

As I see it, there are two possibilities; either they only penetrate shields when it comes to actual ship-vs-ship combat, or the partial penetration rounds the '1m bombard damage' down to 0.

Does anyone have any idea which it is? Will researching the '2m bombard damage' railgun make a difference? Or will I be forced to find a planet destroyer to take care of this?
elliotg

RE: Planetary bombardment, railguns and shields

Post by elliotg »

Glad you're getting a challenge Raap :)

Planetary Shields will stop anything, at least anything short of a planet destroyer. So railguns don't help you with bombardment here. You'll just have to invade their colony.

Elliot
Spacecadet

Post by Spacecadet »

I think it takes a while for the damage/shield penetration to accrue to a point where it exceeds population growth (don't forget about that).