Is it over for the USSR?

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

garydj

Is it over for the USSR?

Post by garydj »

Hi

I'm a newbie and playing the Soviets and it is Turn 15 (25 Sep 41). The Germans have taken Leningrad, Kiev, Dnepropetrovsk, Zaporozhye, Odessa and Tula. Kharkov is surrounded and will fall next turn. If I'm lucky, I will hold Orel, Kursk, Stalino and Sevastapol until the mud hits, but it will be touch and go and I'm unlikely to hold all these cities.

The losses to date have been horrendous. The Red Army is outnumbered in manpower, tanks and artillery. The only category where we have numbers on our side is in aircraft, which seem to play only a minor part in the game.

I'm wondering whether it is worth continuing with this game. It looks to me that the Axis will achieve automatic victory in the summer of '42. They are currently on 205 VP and about to add Kharkov to the total.

Since our game will go into a hiatus while the German player moves house, I'd be grateful for advice on whether I should concede and we start a new game.

Cheers

Gary
loki100

RE: Is it over for the USSR?

Post by loki100 »

sounds ok to me

If you can hold Stalino-Rostov that is actually quite a good improvement on a 'normal' 1941.

You'll be surprised how fast the Red Army recovers in the mud turns, even if your opponent attacks in the snow turns its likely to be limited to specific objectives, and even if you are using the mild blizzard there is going to be at least one sector where you can inflict serious damage (or regain a lot of terrain).

Coping with 1942, esp if you have used the mild blizzard, is a different set of problems and there are 4-5 AARs (current and recent) that will give you a good idea of what to look out for
garydj

Post by garydj »

Thanks, loki100.

Sorry to sound stupid, but what is an AAR?

Gary
loki100

Post by loki100 »

Hi