Tractor Works AI strangeness

Get ready for Mark H. Walker's Lock ‘n Load: Heroes of Stalingrad. This is the first complete computer game in the Lock ‘n Load series, covering the battles in and around Stalingrad during World War II.
hjc

Tractor Works AI strangeness

Post by hjc »

I'm new to HoS and trying to understand what goes on with the AI.

Does "hide in place" mean the AI unit will never move despite it being set to an attack, or even 'beserk' status?

The reason I ask is when playing the Tractor Works scenario (thanks jcrohio for these scenarios) as the Soviets, if I simply sit and do nothing (passing every phase) the AI also passes every phase. The whole scenario passes and I win because I've still got all the victory hexes. I Fiddled around with the editor and changed the status of some german units away from HIP. Even then it seemed the only way to get the germans to start attacking was to try to spot them, then fire on them. Otherwise the computer passes repeatedly.

I noticed there is a difference between Tractor Works and Streets of Stalingrad scenarios - in SoS scenario the germans near the tractor works are not all set to HIP, whereas in Tractor works they are. The difference is pretty clear, because when playing SoS, the germans attack the tractor works victory hexes in strength.

I've experimented in 1.07 and just updated to 1.09 with the same results.

I did find one way to get the germans to reliably attack is to set MG areas on the victory hexes, then set german units to that MG area. Is this what we're meant to do if we want the AI to attack and take victory hexes? I'm puzzled because in some other scenarios the AI will attack and try to take victory hexes without MG areas being set.

jcrohio

RE: Tractor Works AI strangeness

Post by jcrohio »