Can't build a mining station

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

FireLion1983

Can't build a mining station

Post by FireLion1983 »

Hi guys, I am just getting into my first game of DW. I have the Shadows expansion pack. I started the game, built some construction ships, and they just sit idle because I can't build a single mining station. It has to do with influence from a nearby empire, known as a confederacy. Despite gas giants and volcanic planets in orbit directly next to me, somehow their influence is preventing me from doing anything!

I have tried going to war with them, but it still refuses to let me build anything anywhere. [&:]

It's quite annoying and I'm thinking of just starting the game over, but would like your advice as to how to proceed.

Thanks! [:)]
pycco

RE: Can't build a mining station

Post by pycco »

sounds like you had another empire in your system. try a different game and see.
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
-Mark Twain
FireLion1983

Post by FireLion1983 »

Yes, that's correct. Is there really no way to move forward in this game?? [&:]
pycco

Post by pycco »

no there is but it being your first game, i would not suggest it.