Arty Units

Command Ops: Battles From The Bulge takes the highly acclaimed Airborne Assault engine back to the West Front for the crucial engagements during the Ardennes Offensive. Test your command skills in the fiery crucible of Airborne Assault’s “pausable continuous time” uber-realistic game engine. It's up to you to develop the strategy, issue the orders, set the pace, and try to win the laurels of victory in the cold, shadowy Ardennes.
Command Ops: Highway to the Reich brings us to the setting of one of the most epic and controversial battles of World War II: Operation Market-Garden, covering every major engagement along Hell’s Highway, from the surprise capture of Joe’s Bridge by the Irish Guards a week before the offensive to the final battles on “The Island” south of Arnhem.

Moderators: Panther Paul, Arjuna

MikeJ19

Arty Units

Post by MikeJ19 »

Good day all,

As a retired Artillery Officer, I always enjoy the fire support aspects of games. I like how the artillery is used in Command Ops. It is flexible and does a good amount of damage.

I have an observation though on its defensive strength. I'm planning the Loshiem Gap scenario and my forward elements have run into the US artillery Bns. The Bns have slowed me up considerably. Howitzer direct fire is rarely that accurate and I think that two Infantry companies would fare very well against an Arty Bn.

Also, I think that the Artillery units can deploy their guns too quickly. Towed artillery takes time to deploy and the guns can not fire while being towed. So, my Infantry company facing a moving artillery unit should be untouched, and should do lots of damage to the artillery unit.

Back to the game....
Mike

Retired Gunner
jimcarravall

RE: Arty Units

Post by jimcarravall »

ORIGINAL: MikeJ19

Good day all,

As a retired Artillery Officer, I always enjoy the fire support aspects of games. I like how the artillery is used in Command Ops. It is flexible and does a good amount of damage.