Worth buying the expansions now or wait for Universe?

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

lesharris

Worth buying the expansions now or wait for Universe?

Post by lesharris »

I'm new to Distant Worlds and have been really enjoying myself with just the base game so far. I'd like to get some of the new features and enhancements Shadows and the other expansions provide. I was ready to pull the trigger on all three existing expansions but then found out about the existence of Universe.

Should I just wait for Universe to get everything bundled plus the new campaign and modding stuff? If there will be some kind of discounted price for Universe if one already owns the previous expansions that would probably sway me to buy the expansions now so I don't have to wait for an unreleased product.

Just thought I'd try to get the thoughts of folks who are far more familiar than I with this game.
Mad Igor

RE: Worth buying the expansions now or wait for Universe?

Post by Mad Igor »

wait for U.
have money buy them all.
elanaahova

Post by elanaahova »

very hard to really make an intelligent decision. We have no idea how much Universe will cost, nor do we know how much the discount for owners of the series will be. Bottom line, in the face of no info about relative costs, do like mad igor says.
"Banging rocks together... thats the ticket to a better tomorrow."
Fishers of Men

Post by Fishers of Men »