Port Moresby is lost, next move?

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

sufa101loofa

Port Moresby is lost, next move?

Post by sufa101loofa »

It is Jan 22, 1942 and I have already lost Port Moresby to my PBEM Japanese opponent.
KB has left the area to resupply. My question is this - I have paid the PP cost to release the Australian 14th, 8th and 5th brigades and was intending to place them in Noumea (Southwest Pacific HQ going here). Should I now try an Amphibious landing at PM instead? To support the landing I have a Surface Combat TF with one CA, 2 CL and about 7 DD. Little air cover and no real way to repel the KB if they come back. I am playing scenario 1 with no house rules. Yes this is my first PBEM game.
Thanks in advance for your help.
We shall defend our island, whatever the cost may be, we shall fight on the beaches, we shall fight on the landing grounds, we shall fight in the fields and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills; we shall never surrender...Winston Churchill
Lokasenna

RE: Port Moresby is lost, next move?

Post by Lokasenna »

You don't need Moresby. Noumea is easier for you to bug out from if the KB shows back up.

It is still very, very early. I would advise caution. It is easy for you to lose important early war brigades and ships on foolish ventures. I would call going to Moresby in January foolish, as if he has Rabaul he can sink your ships with Bettys and you won't have any air cover as you shouldn't be sending the CVs under the Betty umbrella until July at the earliest (when their F4F squadrons are size 36).

However, New Caledonia presents an opportunity to force your opponent to commit there, which is a very long ways from his fuel supplies. IF you can land at Koumac or La Foa to avoid a heavy IJA/IJN presence at Noumea, do it. However, if he's got planes at Noumea... beware, the same applies here as at Moresby.