More options for colonies?

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

crusader2010

More options for colonies?

Post by crusader2010 »

Hi. I just started playing this awesome game and i got some questions:

1. Is there any way to disband a colony from a planet (i.e. make it empty again)? bombarding my own planet seems really stupid (i'm not even sure it works, haven't tried it yet).

2. Can the planet quality be increased by any means? (the terraforming facility seems to work only after disasters and beyond that there's nothing).

3. How can i retrofit the fleet that i have selected? (the retrofit could be done to the most recent design). I simply hate going to the ships and bases screen and selecting them from there.

4. More or less related to point 3, is there any mod that allows me to customize the UI? or can modding even change the UI at all? so many things would be much easier if there were several buttons(and keyboard shortcuts) for ordering ships around; like telling an explorer to explore the system it's currently in, without all the zooming out and clicking.

5. Suppose i queued the construction of some bases on a planet, where can i see these orders? how can i cancel them or change their priority? (i.e. where can i see/edit all the queued orders for the construction ships?). I hope there is some way to do it otherwise this is quite an important oversight.