New player... lost.

The new Cold War turned hot wargame from On Target Simulations, now expanded with the Player's Edition! Choose the NATO or Soviet forces in one of many scenarios or two linked campaigns. No effort was spared to model modern warfare realistically, including armor, infantry, helicopters, air support, artillery, electronic warfare, chemical and nuclear weapons. An innovative new asynchronous turn order means that OODA loops and various effects on C3 are accurately modeled as never before.

Moderators: WildCatNL, cbelva, IronManBeta, CapnDarwin, IronMikeGolf, Mad Russian

pjdegrieck

New player... lost.

Post by pjdegrieck »

Hello,

I'm a Panzer Corp, Distant Worlds, and Operation Star vet. But I'm new to this "type" of detailed war game. I can't figure a few things out for the life of me, and it's not in the manual (so I think).

1. Command units. How do I know which units these units "command". I can see the command radius, but not sure which units are their subordinates.
2. Will a command unit "command" any unit? Making my first question moot?
3. Numbers and letters on the cards. I know the bottom left number is the number of tanks, etc in the card, but what about letters like T, W. followed by S, or O. I have no clue what this means. Then Right below the vehicle graphic, there will be 4/2, 2/2 RTR, 2/MTR. Etc. Im sure these stand for something, like tank, motor, etc. But anything more specific?

I want to learn, enjoy, and master this game. So please give me a hand!

Thanks!
demiller

RE: New player... lost.

Post by demiller »

ORIGINAL: Fartsicle

I'm a Panzer Corp, Distant Worlds, and Operation Star vet. But I'm new to this "type" of detailed war game. I can't figure a few things out for the life of me, and it's not in the manual (so I think).

There's a lot to learn, I know! Take a look at section 8.1 of the manual, on page 65. That will cover a lot of what you're asking.