Crashing due to memory error

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

epidemic

Crashing due to memory error

Post by epidemic »

Hi. I'm just new to Command (25 hrs or so played so far) and am enjoying it immensely. I do, however, run into rather a lot of crashes - sometimes several per hour. Thank goodness for the autosave feature! Nonetheless, I'd like to report these frequent crashes in the hope that they can be fixed.

Lately, all of the crashes have been such that the map disappears entirely and is replaced with a giant red X on a white background.

I'm using build 479 and this latest crash (of dozens) occurred playing the Canary's Cage scenario. The crash report says that I ran out of memory. I run Windows 7, have 8 gigs of RAM, and a Radeon 7950 with 3 gigs of RAM. My multi-monitor display is set to 5760 x 1080 using Eyefinity.

I'll upload my autosave file in a following post, as I already uploaded the crash screen.

Thank you.

Attachments
crashreport.jpg
crashreport.jpg (139.37 KiB) Viewed 100 times
epidemic

RE: Crashing due to memory error

Post by epidemic »

Attached is the autosave file for the previous post.

Thanks again.
Attachments
Autosave.zip
(375.68 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
thewood1

Post by thewood1 »

Just ran at 15 and 30 to 1 time and no issues for an hour game time. I suspect that even with 8G of RAM, you are running out of video RAM at your resolution. It might be RAM, but doesn't seem likely.

Continued for another 2 hours game time and no issues.
epidemic

Post by epidemic »

Thanks, thewood1, it was very kind of you to test it for me.