DQ2004's AAR #1 - A 'sort of' AAR

Post descriptions of your brilliant successes and unfortunate demises.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

DQ2004

DQ2004's AAR #1 - A 'sort of' AAR

Post by DQ2004 »

Hi all,
OK well here we go with AAR number one. A 'sort of' AAR that has very few screenshots (sorry) because I've been spending more time playing the game than wanting to take screenshots. It might also be termed a 'Litany of Mistakes'. Because there's been plenty!

Please bear in mind this has been/is being played with me learning to use the computer game systems while I go along, so there has been, unsurprisingly, a long list of mistakes. However, having played and owned WiF 4.5, WiF 5 & WiF 6 (FE), I have some knowledge of what goes where and who does what, so you would think that the strategy mistakes wouldn’t be so bad.
Not so. Well, that’s because I’ve hardly played WiF the boardgame in the last 10 years, mostly due to lack of space. The first few turns also have no screenshots at all, because I was so busy enjoying the game.
In fact, on that note, I must say I have been thoroughly enjoying myself over the last few weeks, and a huge thanks and well done to Steve and all of the others who have helped. You have done an amazing job. I think my first real moment of 'WOW' was not when I started playing (although it was a wow), not when I got the manuals (although that was a wow), but when I overran some of the Netherlands navy when the Germans invaded the place. The way the game digressed into naval moves, naval combat and then returned to land movement was very impressive. I've had a couple of bugs but only one serious one so far, so I am very impressed.
Anyway, on with the war!

Sep/Oct 1919