First Impressions

The new Cold War turned hot wargame from On Target Simulations, now expanded with the Player's Edition! Choose the NATO or Soviet forces in one of many scenarios or two linked campaigns. No effort was spared to model modern warfare realistically, including armor, infantry, helicopters, air support, artillery, electronic warfare, chemical and nuclear weapons. An innovative new asynchronous turn order means that OODA loops and various effects on C3 are accurately modeled as never before.

Moderators: WildCatNL, cbelva, IronManBeta, CapnDarwin, IronMikeGolf, Mad Russian

Great_Ajax

RE: First Impressions

Post by Great_Ajax »

I have to say that I am very impressed with the game. There are many so options and details that I did not expect. Being an artilleryman by trade, I really appreciate the different bombardment and ammunition types. It took me several retries in a "A Time to Dance" to figure out how to stop my tank companies from defaulting to screen orders and always backing up. I finally (by reading the manual) figured out that assault orders cleared that up.

My first real battle in "A Time to Dance" was a great and tense battle complete with destroying at least a Soviet tank battalion NW of Rodelmaier followed by defeating a Soviet Motorized Rifle Regiment pushing through Heusreu. I had lost the city initially but then pushed them back out with a final push from the Bradley Cavalry Troop. I was thinking that the game was in the bag when elements of a Soviet Tank Regiment was detected by my scouts south of Bad Neustadt where I had no defenses. D Co. Armor had to be quickly re-routed from the mop up around Heustreu to devastating effect. I lost more vehicles in this last engagement than the first 80% of the battle. Ended up with a contested result. Had a great time and look forward to playing some more. Well done guys!

Trey
"You want mercy!? I'm chaotic neutral!"

WiTE Scenario Designer
WitW Scenario/Data Team Lead
WitE 2.0 Scenario Designer