Colonizing a planet with a pirate base

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies and ship designs with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

WCG

Colonizing a planet with a pirate base

Post by WCG »

OK, I'm a complete newbie with another newbie question. For my first game, I'm playing an empire in the pre-warp era, so the pirates are very strong. But my question is more about the mechanics involved here.

There's a human independent planet, and I'm human, so they'd likely accept a colonization ship (not that I've researched colonization yet, but I'm getting there). However, the pirates are building a hidden base there, and it's almost completed.

Once they have a base on the planet, do I have to invade the planet and destroy the base, or can I still send a colony ship there? Or do I have to do both?

I'm just not sure how this works. The pirates control the planet, apparently (at least 50%, or they couldn't build a base there, right?). And yeah, I'm far too weak to fight pirates right now, anyway. But in general, does their having a hidden base on a planet mean that I have to assault the planet, rather than colonize it?

And if I do that, will I have to fight the pirates, any human troops, and the civilian population, too? How does that work when an independent world has a pirate base?

Thanks,

Bill
Bingeling

RE: Colonizing a planet with a pirate base

Post by Bingeling »

I am not quite sure, but I think you can colonize it. You may inherit the pirate base, though. If you invade, I think the base disappears.
Darkspire

Post by Darkspire »

Never colonized an independent with a pirate base but have invaded one and taken control of the planet and there has been a pirate base there that I did not notice on first looking at the planet. Destroyed it with offloading the troops from a transport and attacking it on the facilities tab via F2.

Darkspire
WCG

Post by WCG »

ORIGINAL: Darkspire