Enhanced AI and Officers

Advanced Tactics is a versatile turn-based strategy system that gives gamers the chance to wage almost any battle in any time period. The initial release focuses on World War II and includes a number of historical scenarios as well as a full editor! This forum supports both the original Advanced Tactics and the new and improved Advanced Tactics: Gold Edition.

Moderator: Vic

ghoward

RE: Enhanced AI (Maritime)

Post by ghoward »

Hi Lancer
I started a random game using the 8 apr version of ERM_EAI_NATO_v214 (Webizen's nato version of your mod). He has upgraded now it to your apr 10 release. I spent a long time generating a map that I think is about perfect for your maritime work, and I saved it as a scenario before I started playing. Can I now edit that scenario to link in your (well, Webizen's) newer (apr 10) of the masterfile so I can use the same map and starting positions, or is there more to it?
lancer

Post by lancer »

Hi Barerabbit,

Mmmm. Don't think that this is doable. It's a one and a half hour job for me to upgrade a masterfile and, even knowing what I do now, I still find ways to mess it up.

You could stick with your map along with the april 8 version of the masterfile if you aren't fussed about the latest tweaks to the Officers (they work fine without them) and the new feature above. As the additional feature serves to ramp up the difficulty even further I'd give yourself a 'training' game with the original masterfile and your favourite map (has it got both Oil and Raw on your home island?) before stepping up.

The difficulty is on a slow burner in that it ratchets up as the game progresses. Assuming you've selected the 'Iron Man' option if you can make it to turn 150 with the standard AI you've done well. If you're still standing by turn 200 then give yourself a medal.