Runtime error

Post bug reports and ask for help with other issues here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

smudge56

Runtime error

Post by smudge56 »

I am no comouter expert after about a number of turns I get a runtime error and it crashes to desktop. I reload game carry on from were it stopped and after another few turns same again. Now I have used suggested tweeks to the quick game short cut. Could these be causing it or is it something else? Please bare in mind im no super techie.
AKA - Smudge
Lokasenna

RE: Runtime error

Post by Lokasenna »

What are the specifications of your computer? I.e.:

What is the graphics card?
What is the CPU? (Pentium 4, Core2, AMD 64, AMD X2, etc.)

I'm not sure the command line switches have anything to do with it, but they might if they don't match up (with your CPU in particular). It could be some funky interaction between various drivers (the software that makes the hardware work) and the .exe. If you can tell us what "tweaks" to the game short cut you are using and the information above, then we might be able to make some headway.

Just stabbing in the dark.
smudge56

Post by smudge56 »

Im using my old Laptop at the moment its a Duel core intel t9300 2.50ghz, it has 4gb ram and is running vista home premium. In the comand line of the short cut i started out with : -

-fw –px1680 –py1050 –altFont –cpu2 –multiaudio –dd_sw at the end of the line.

I the took out -dd_sw and -multiaudio but it still happened again a few turns later.

ive reduced it to "C:\Matrix Games\War in the Pacific Admiral's Edition\War in the Pacific Admiral Edition.exe" -fw –px1680 –py1050.

The next time it happened i'll try to get a screen shot of the error.

I have played the original Witp on the same laptop and never had any problems.

Do you suggest i remove the tweeks completely and try it as normal?

AKA - Smudge
Bullwinkle58

Post by Bullwinkle58 »

ORIGINAL: Blighty56