How to conquer other races?

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies and ship designs with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

Shiv

How to conquer other races?

Post by Shiv »

Hi - I'm new to Distant Worlds but really, really enjoying it so far.

In my current game I'm playing as Humans and we've become locked in a long, drawn out war with the Boskarans. After many years of conflict and swapping colonies with each other, I've managed to get the upper hand and finally conquer the Boskaran homeworld. However much to my surprise the war did not end with my victory at the homeworld. Instead the Boskarans "moved" their capital to one of their other unconquered worlds - of which they have many I might add. [&:]

So am I correct in thinking that I will need to completely conquer all of their planets to knock them out of the game? Or failing that completely exterminate them with bombardments?

They are my only real competitors at this stage of the game so conquering them should lead me to the big win.

Any advice on strategies on how to grind them down would be most welcome.

Arcatus

RE: How to conquer other races?

Post by Arcatus »

That is correct; to completely remove a race from the game you need to conqueror, bombard or destroy all of their planets.

However; Once their homeworld is conquered they will be severely crippled, and unlikely to be a threat.

But, depending on game settings, you don't need to exterminate them to win...

As you were able to take out a homeworld I don't think you will have any problems mopping up their minor colonies.
HectorOfTroy

Post by HectorOfTroy »

Or maybe you can subjugate them. That's what I do when I play.
Shiv

Post by Shiv »

Thanks for the response guys [:)]