Case blue, deducter(Soviets) vs ruinmmonkey

Post descriptions of your brilliant successes and unfortunate demises.

Moderator: Vic

deducter

Case blue, deducter(Soviets) vs ruinmmonkey

Post by deducter »

Turn 8 July 12 1942

This is my first time playing against another opponent in this game, although I do have much experience with other strategy games in general. My first few turns in the game involved a general retreat, but I also launched very fierce counterattacks whereever possible with my tank forces. I managed to destroy several German motorized regiments of the 1. Panzer Army during the opening days of Case Blue. Nevertheless, I am forced to withdraw gradually. C&C failure in the first few turns resulted in most of the 40th Army getting trapped and pocketed.

I also was not very familiar with the unit creation/HQ reassignment system. It seems that generally, assigning a unit from a more popular to a less popular commander cost pp, is this true? Regardless, I had serious pp issues at the beginning when swapping commanders/reassigning units, but by this time I was doing much better and had mostly sorted out my command issues.

The previous turn was also mud, and these two turns of mud very much helped my defenses and slowed down the German advance.

Voronezh Sector The defenses are solid here, with the 13A and 5TA holding the area around the city.

Ostrogoshk Sector: I have a 4-prestige order to hold the city until 16 July.