Looking for a tactic game

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

LiquidAgua

Looking for a tactic game

Post by LiquidAgua »

Hi,

I'm new to tactics games. I just like to learn one of them and enjoy it. I have a cheap and old PC, but soon i'll pick a Mac. I'm looking for something like this:

- Support for PC/Mac
- WWII, realistic, where you can choose lots of countries
- Not too much micromanaging (this is really important, im a newbie!)
- Naval and air units too
- Some basic diplomacy would be welcome
- Campaign mode, and few IA levels.
- Not too expensive :)
wodin

RE: Looking for a tactic game

Post by wodin »

Strategic War in Europe. Quick to play, easy to pick up. However like all games here not Mac compatible.

Mac may not be the best choice if you want to play games.

Your alos veyr unlikely to find a game that can play on both PC or Mac. You have to buy the version particular to the OS.
LiquidAgua

Post by LiquidAgua »

Thanks for the suggestion. I saw there is another game, Hearts of Iron 3, cheaper (10€ on Steam) and with very good looking graphics. It seems having everything I'm looking for, except that all of them, including Strategic War in Europem, seem really intimidating with all these numbers.

What's your opinion about HoI3 if you have one?

(unfortunately none of these games have a demo)
wodin

Post by wodin »

HoI3 is way more complicated than SWIE. Be a hundred fold.

Personally Real Time Grand Strati.e HoI games do nothing for me and complicate matters to much.

However for $10 it's worth a shot. SWIE is a very quick easy game incomparison though.

Or goto Battlefront and download the Strategic Command demo...another that could be for you.
LiquidAgua

Post by LiquidAgua »

Thx for the comment, i'll try that demo and, if i dont like it, i'll throw a coin to decide between HoI3 or SWIE :P
planner 3

Post by planner 3 »