Metaphor – DivePac(Ger) vs Jim D Burns(Sov), (No Jim)

Post descriptions of your brilliant victories and unfortunate defeats here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

DivePac88

Post by DivePac88 »

AAR's are a lot of fun to read, and it is how I really learned to play these extremely complicated games (WitP, and WitE). I've done a couple for my WitP and AE Pbem's, and they normally get a lot of advice and comments, which has sometimes saved me from embarrassing catastrophes.

Anyhow, I'm going to write this one on my Pbem as the Axis, against a veteran WitP and AE player; Jim D Burns. I’ve never played Jim in WitP, but have read his Pbem AAR’s, and know from them that he is a very competent player. I have also noticed him reading the WitE AAR section a lot of late, which I find extremely worrying.

Now even though I am a veteran WitP player, my wargaming routs come from the Eastern Front. For starting as a 10-year old boy, I was taught to play the Eastern campaign operationally by my Grandfather. As there were no board games available in Australia and New Zealand in 1968, we played on a homemade table-top construction, with an imported rule book (dog eared).

We are playing the stock 1941-45 campaign, with the current 1.06.14 Beta patch. We are using the Random Weather, Full FOW, and the Unlocked HQ settings. While we aren’t playing with any written House Rules, we did agree not to use any gamey tactics (e.g. chaining HQ build up).

I am a firm believer that WitE is winnable as the Axis, in the context of the victory conditions. Even against a very competent Soviet player, contrary to what some folks will have you believe, this game’s outcome is open-ended. I think that it is all about the appropriate strategies, to achieve realistic objectives. You have to be aware that real life strategy and game strategy is not necessarily the same thing, that the same definition for one will not be adequate for the other.

High Safari.