Bagration-game over

Share your best strategies and tactics with other players by posting them here.

Moderator: MOD_PanzerCorps

joe6778

Bagration-game over

Post by joe6778 »

This scenario is a sick joke. Unfortunately, it's not funny because I can't complete the campaign.

I have played the Panzer General series for years so I'm not a novice. I play on moderate complexity. All the other scenarios and campaigns in Panzer Corps vary in complexity, but at least I feel that I have a chance to win at least a marginal victory.

Bagration, however, is unbelievably difficult and I can't get beyond 8 turns before I lose all my units. Game over.

I upgraded my units to the best I could afford, but the Soviet onslaught is overwhelming. I guess I should just disband my anti-air and artillery units and just purchase tanks and more tanks because my ARTY and AA are nothing but cannon fodder. And anything less than the strongest AT and tanks can stand up to the Soviets, even when defending behind rivers.

I can't get beyond this scenario and can't advance in the campaign because my whole force gets wiped out. I was really enjoying the campaign until this.
James Ward

RE: Bagration-game over

Post by James Ward »

What's you force mix? I have had success with this scenaro but you need a pretty tank heavy force, or at least I do.

joe6778

Post by joe6778 »

A very heavy tank force (PzIVs and Tigers), a few INF to hold cities, about six FW190s, two Tac Bombers, a few SPAs, a few heavy AT units, etc. All top of the line units, most overstrength.

My forces quickly become overwhelmed by Soviet units, and when I try to fall back, many are simply surrounded and destroyed. I don't even want to play it out to the end because I would just lose every single unit.

This scenario just seems like a slaughter compared to the rest of the campaign.
James Ward

Post by James Ward »