Disant & Weird Worlds: Partial Conversion Mod (Concept)

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario, art and sound modding and the game editor for Distant Worlds.

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

Ridiculous

Disant & Weird Worlds: Partial Conversion Mod (Concept)

Post by Ridiculous »

Hello,

Like many people today, I work long hours and have less time for gaming. Thus when I sit down to game I want to feel like I have accomplished something. That being said 4x games usually take way to long to finish in short 15 minutes to 30 hour time frames. So I looked into this game a while back and even posted on the forum.

I want to try and convert this game to play like a game called Weird Worlds. The great thing about weird worlds was that it was sit and and play and win in 15 minutes. Explore the galaxy, get into battles and come back home within a time frame.

I am looking for a concept here, since I have limited modding experience. Can this be done? If so what needs to be done and can you point me in the right direction.

Background on Weird Worlds:

Main objective is to explore the galaxy and make it back within a year limit. You can be late but it takes away from score.

Expanded explanation:
Objective of game play: To explore, to treaty or to expand (territories). Depending on your starting ship class you'll get more points for one of those three. Lots of events and items abound.... Such as meet a techno-mage and install a device which lets you explore near black holes without gravity effecting you.

1. Over "galaxy" map: This is where you see all the solar systems you can go to, where the Nebula is laid out and what not. All traveling takes place here. Size needs to be able to be scaled.
Smallest/Smaller/Small/Medium/Large/Larger/Largest [This could be just Small/Medium/Large]