Increasing Max Races per Galaxy

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario, art and sound modding and the game editor for Distant Worlds.

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

Carl4243

Increasing Max Races per Galaxy

Post by Carl4243 »

Hi guys, i went searching about 6 pages back but couldnt find anything showing me how to do this...

i'm a long time player of Distant Worlds (since the original) not much of a modder though, only done tweeking, and for other games. Could someone be kind enough to walk me threw on how to raise the races cap when creating a game? i want to experiment with like 500 or so races on a 1400 star map... survival of the fittest hardcore mode lol, cant really expand without having to take someone out.

but ya, if someone would walk me threw on how to edit that? i have no experience in modding this game so please be descriptive.

P.S.
i'd like to take this opportunity since i rarely post to say: Igard, i LOVE your STar Trek Mods (i prefer TNG/DS9 era)!! although the Legends new ship images are nice, i just miss my STar Trek Theme so much... it's not the same fun without it... cant wait till you finish up with the conversion for Legends.
eltharion

RE: Increasing Max Races per Galaxy

Post by eltharion »

I think a number of races that high would kill the game engine.
However from what I know is a hard-coded value in the game.

Maybe you can add more (by editor) but I do not think this is what you mean.
He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. Is not life a hundred times too short for us to bore ourselves?

-Friedrich Nietzsche-
Carl4243

Post by Carl4243 »

it might kill the game indeed, and i'll just scale it down as needed in "trial and error" to find how many i can squeeze in, but you never know unless you try ;)

Someone apparently did it, i forget where the post is within the 6 page i searched but someone did 32 empires... but didnt explain or give a hint on where to do that.