Mods and the AI

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario design, art and sound modding and the game editor for WITP Admiral's Edition.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

Oldguard1970

Mods and the AI

Post by Oldguard1970 »

I realize the motivation behind modding is to make a game for PBEM. However, If I were to modify Scenario 2 to add capacity to the Japanese side, (boosting aircraft pools and production, for example), would the standard AI for Scenario 2 be saved into the saved mod?
"Rangers Lead the Way!"
Nikademus

RE: Mods and the AI

Post by Nikademus »

as long as you import the AI files for that original scenario, yes. Depending on the scale and nature of your changes however it might confuse the AI scripts. Modding by default is not aimed at PBEM, however when you create a totally new scenario, you have to create the AI scripts for it. Some are better at that than others. I have some experience with doing it, but Andy Mac is the expert. He wrote the current AE scripts.

For example....i'm currently playing a modded version of Babes scn 29? or 28. I imported the AI files for it and am playing against the AI as Japan.
el cid again

Post by el cid again »

IF you copy the scenario en toto, and just modify it, you get the AI from the stock mod as is. If you find the AI an acceptable
player - it will simply become slightly stronger if it has more to play with. It is not, however, a human opponent, and it will
not do very well compared to one. But it is probably the SOP to do exactly this - just add stuff to a base scenario - and let the
AI do what it will with the added stuff.
Misconduct

Post by Misconduct »

ORIGINAL: el cid again

IF you copy the scenario en toto, and just modify it, you get the AI from the stock mod as is. If you find the AI an acceptable
player - it will simply become slightly stronger if it has more to play with. It is not, however, a human opponent, and it will