Calulating attack odds (or knowing when an attack will succeed and when it won't)No Pelton

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

Harrybanana

Calulating attack odds (or knowing when an attack will succeed and when it won't)No Pelton

Post by Harrybanana »

I'm a noob and one thing I am having difficulty figuring out as the Russians is what sort of force you need to attack those exploiting German panzer divisions to give them a bloody nose. I realize I'm probably going to need to do a deliberate assault and preferably not attack across a river, but some of the attacks I've seen performed by the experienced players I would have been too timid to attempt myself. For example, in his recent AAR Tarhunnas used 4 infantry divisions (each of which I believe only had CV of 1) to successfully attack a Pz Division which, even after being forced to retreat in the battle, had a defensive CV of 11. The Germans even had some air units flying in support while the Russians did not. I assume before he even made the attack Tarhunnas had a pretty good idea it would work; my question is how did he know? I hope the answer is not as simple as the only way to learn is through experience and making mistakes, as I'm making a lot of those already.

[]
Robert Harris
Flaviusx

RE: Calulating attack odds (or knowing when an attack will succeed and when it won't)

Post by Flaviusx »

The key is to not pay much attention to on map CVs. Raw unit strengths, command and control, and leadership are far more important. Also, the terrain the defender is in and state of fortification. You can also expect the panzer spearheads to be in a highly fatigued condition after a couple of turns of operations without rest.

WitE Alpha Tester
Pawlock

RE: Calulating attack odds (or knowing when an attack will succeed and when it won't)

Post by Pawlock »