PBEM 1943: 6 Observations on the Mid-game

Gary Grigsby’s War in the East: The German-Soviet War 1941-1945 is a turn-based World War II strategy game stretching across the entire Eastern Front. Gamers can engage in an epic campaign, including division-sized battles with realistic and historical terrain, weather, orders of battle, logistics and combat results.

The critically and fan-acclaimed Eastern Front mega-game Gary Grigsby’s War in the East just got bigger and better with Gary Grigsby’s War in the East: Don to the Danube! This expansion to the award-winning War in the East comes with a wide array of later war scenarios ranging from short but intense 6 turn bouts like the Battle for Kharkov (1942) to immense 37-turn engagements taking place across multiple nations like Drama on the Danube (Summer 1944 – Spring 1945).

Moderators: Joel Billings, elmo3, Sabre21

heliodorus04

RE: PBEM 1943: 6 Observations on the Mid-game

Post by heliodorus04 »

ORIGINAL: herwin

I'm just learning the game, but I know something historical about the effect of odds--as of Friday, btw, when I completed the Bayesian analysis. Rather than calculating the odds in the traditional way, define a 1-1 attack as one the attacker has a 50-50 chance of a breakthrough with the defence being forced out of its position. So the combat power ratio corresponding to a 1-1 attack would be about 100% for an encounter battle, 200% for a hasty attack on a hasty defence, 300% for a deliberate attack on a positional defence, and 400% for a set-piece assault on a fortified line. The casualty percentage in a 1-1 attack averages about 15%, with the winner averaging about 10% and the loser averaging about 20%. The standard deviation of the casualty percentage is about a factor of 2. Now you say you want a 95% chance of a breakthrough? You have to increase your combat power by a factor of four. That doubles the casualty percentage on both sides. As a defender, you want to reduce the chance of a breakthrough to