Must have mods?

Norm Koger's The Operational Art of War III is the next game in the award-winning Operational Art of War game series. TOAW3 is updated and enhanced version of the TOAW: Century of Warfare game series. TOAW3 is a turn based game covering operational warfare from 1850-2015. Game scale is from 2.5km to 50km and half day to full week turns. TOAW3 scenarios have been designed by over 70 designers and included over 130 scenarios. TOAW3 comes complete with a full game editor.

Moderators: JAMiAM, ralphtricky

RealDarko

Must have mods?

Post by RealDarko »

I'm new in TOAW III and will like to know If there are some mods that are a must for the game. The graphics specially I think they can be improved. Can someone help?
Thanks!
larryfulkerson

RE: Must have mods?

Post by larryfulkerson »

I'm using a graphics mod that I consider the best yet.  Of course that's my opinion and subject to interpretation ( the eye of the beholder etc. ) but you can download the alt-graphics folder I'm using from here:

http://www.filedropper.com/altgraphics

Just unzip it and replace your AltGraphics folder with mine.  You might want to move your AltGraphics to a safe spot instead of replacing it....just a thought.
Interviewer: "What is your greatest weakness?"
Elderly Gentleman: "My honesty."
Interviewer: "Well I hardly think that could be a weakness."
Elderly Gentleman: "I don't give a fuck what you think."
ralphtricky

Post by ralphtricky »

To try to help, I need to try to explain some 'technical' things.

First, a Pixel is one of the tiny dots that make up you screen. If you're at 1024x768 resolution that means that there are 1024x768 pixels on the screen.

There are now two types of graphics used by TOAW.
Type 1 is the old style graphics, these are BMP, they aren't compressed, and TOAW interprets many of the BMPs so that certain pixels with a specific color (I think it's white) are not displayed.