Leningrad First: by Von Rundstedt

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

MilRevKo

Leningrad First: by Von Rundstedt

Post by MilRevKo »

In "German Generals Talk" a master piece by B. Liddle Hart , an interview with G. Von Rundstedt discusses the greatest failure of the war on the German part was the failure to drive to Leningrad and take it in the summer of 41.

I am only learning the game and I have had several starts as the German against the AI. ( 'Iam using the AI as a learning tool)

I have read in the forum that in a pbem game the taking of Moscow in 41 is dangerous because the winter counter attack will grind the German smth fierce...

With that in mind has any one used the Leningrad first approach?

What is the upside-downside?
Stultum est timere quod vitare non potes -Publilius Syrus
Q-Ball

RE: Leningrad First: by Von Rundstedt

Post by Q-Ball »

I personally think Leningrad is the most desirable target for several reasons.

First, once you take it, you free the Finns, which are invaluable in the first Winter. You can also straighten the line such that taking Leningrad will shorten, not lengthen, your overall defense line. Freeing up the Finns alone basically will free-up an entire German army.

The problem is taking it. At the moment, swamps are mini-fortresses. The Volkov River line, which you need to cross to really isolate Leningrad, is impregnible between the major rivers and swamps, if the Russians fortify it.

So the risk in Leningrad is going all-in and getting stuck anyway due to the terrain. And tanks don't really do much good.

I suspect that after the next patch blunts the swamp effect, you'll see more players go Leningrad first.

mmarquo

Post by mmarquo »

I can now take against the AI in 14 turns...[:D]

Marquo
MilRevKo

Post by MilRevKo »

Yes, that is along the lines of waht I was thinking